التشخيص

لا يوجد اختبار واحد لتشخيص الربو. طبيبك سوف:

  • اسأل عن الأعراض
  • اسأل عن الصحة العامة ، بما في ذلك ما إذا كنت (أو أفراد عائلتك الآخرين) تعاني من الحساسية مثل الأكزيما أو حمى القش وما إلى ذلك.
  • قم بفحص جسدي (مثل الاستماع إلى الصدر)
  • النظر في الأسباب المحتملة الأخرى للأعراض
  • ترتيب اختبار قياس التنفس (للبالغين والأطفال من سن 6 سنوات وما فوق).

مدى جودة عمل الرئتين (وظائف الرئة) يتم اختبارها باستخدام مقياس التنفس. أنت تنفخ في الأنبوب بقوة وأطول فترة ممكنة. يقيس مقياس التنفس كمية الهواء التي يتم دفعها عبر الأنبوب ، بالإضافة إلى سعة الرئة والمعلمات الأخرى.

يمكن أن يختلف تدفق الهواء في الأشخاص الأصحاء أيضًا (على سبيل المثال ، عندما يعاني شخص ما من نزلة برد ، قد لا تعمل رئتيه بالشكل المعتاد). لكن الأشخاص المصابين بالربو لديهم فرق أكبر بكثير من الأشخاص الأصحاء بين كيفية عمل رئتيهم في أفضل حالاتها وفي أسوأ حالاتها.

يمكن لمعظم الأطفال الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 6 سنوات إجراء اختبار الربو هذا. إذا كنت أنت أو طفلك مصابًا بنزلة برد أو إنفلونزا ، فيجب إعادة قياس التنفس لاحقًا عندما تكون بصحة جيدة.

سيبحث الطبيب عن علامات الحالات التي غالبًا ما تترافق مع الربو مثل التهاب الأنف (التهاب الأنف) ، والتهاب الجيوب الأنفية (التهاب الجيوب الأنفية) ، والأورام الحميدة الأنفية (أكياس مليئة بالمخاط في الأنف) ، والأكزيما أو التهاب الجلد (الجلد) تهيج).

يحتاج الطبيب أحيانًا إلى إجراء اختبارات أخرى:

  • اختبارات الحساسيةسواء الجلد أو الدم
  • اختبار لمعرفة كيف تتفاعل مجاري الهواء مع التمرين
  • اختبارات لحالات أخرى ، مثل مرض الجزر المعدي المريئي (GERD) أو انقطاع النفس الانسدادي النومي
  • اختبار لمرض الجيوب الأنفية
  • تصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية أو مخطط كهربية القلب للتحقق من وجود علامات لأمراض الرئة أو أمراض القلب المنفصلة
  • اختبار أكسيد النيتريك الزفير (FeNO) لقياس التهاب الرئة

ماذا تعني؟

اختبار بدني

سيفحص الطبيب أذنيك ، وعينيك ، وأنفك ، وحلقك ، وجلدك ، وصدرك ، ورئتيك. لاستبعاد الحالات الأخرى المحتملة - مثل عدوى الجهاز التنفسي أو مرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن (مرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن) - سيسألك طبيبك أسئلة حول العلامات والأعراض التي تعانيها وحول أي مشاكل صحية أخرى. قد يشمل هذا الاختبار اختبار وظائف الرئة لاكتشاف مدى جودة زفير الهواء من رئتيك. قد تحتاج أيضًا إلى تصوير رئتيك أو الجيوب الأنفية بالأشعة السينية.

اختبار وظائف الرئة

لمعرفة مدى جودة عمل رئتيك ، مقدار الهواء الداخل والخارج أثناء التنفس.

قياس التنفس

هذا اختبار للتأكيد الربو. سوف تأخذ نفسًا عميقًا ثم تزفر بقوة في لسان حال متصل بجهاز يسمى مقياس التنفس. يقدِّر هذا الاختبار تضييق أنابيب الشعب الهوائية عن طريق التحقق من كمية الهواء التي يمكنك زفيرها بعد التنفس العميق ومدى سرعة الزفير.

قمة التدفق

A مقياس أقصى التدفق هو عبارة عن جهاز صغير محمول باليد يقيس مدى صعوبة الزفير. أثناء الاختبار ، تتنفس بعمق قدر الإمكان ثم تنفخ في الجهاز بأقصى قوة وسرعة ممكنة. تعد قراءات ذروة الجريان الأقل من المعتاد علامة على أن رئتيك قد لا تعملان بشكل جيد وأن الربو قد يزداد سوءًا. إذا تم تشخيص إصابتك بالربو ، فيمكنك استخدام مقياس ذروة الجريان في المنزل للمساعدة في تتبع حالتك.

غالبًا ما تُجرى اختبارات وظائف الرئة قبل وبعد تناول دواء يسمى موسع القصبات ، مثل سالبوتامول / ألبوتيرول ، لفتح مجرى الهواء (اختبار الانعكاس). إذا تحسنت وظيفة رئتيك بعد استنشاق موسع قصبي ، فمن المحتمل أنك مصاب بالربو.

الأشعة

الصدر أشعة سينية أو CT يمكن لفحص رئتيك تحديد التشوهات أو الأمراض التي يمكن أن تسبب أو تؤدي إلى تفاقم مشاكل التنفس (مثل العدوى).

اختبار أكسيد النيتريك في الزفير - FeNO

كلنا نخرج القليل من أكسيد النيتريك (NO). لكن الإفراط في تناول أكسيد النيتريك يعد مؤشرًا على التهاب الرئة ، وهو الشرط الأساسي للربو. يمكن أن يكون قياس مستويات أكسيد النيتريك في أنفاسك (FeNO ، أو أكسيد النيتريك الزفير الجزئي) مفيدًا في اختبار الربو ومراقبته. يتضمن الاختبار غير الباضع التنفس في الجهاز الذي يكتشف مستويات FeNO ؛ يمكن إجراء هذه العملية بسهولة من قبل المرضى من جميع الأعمار.

اختبار الميثاكولين

الميثاكولين ، عند استنشاقه ، سوف يسبب انقباض خفيف في مجرى الهواء. إذا كنت تتفاعل مع الميثاكولين ، فمن المحتمل أن تكون مصابًا بالربو. يمكن استخدام هذا الاختبار حتى لو كان اختبار وظائف الرئة الأولي طبيعيًا.

اختبار الاستفزاز

هو اختبار استفزازي لممارسة الرياضة والربو الناجم عن البرد. في هذه الاختبارات ، يتم قياس انسداد مجرى الهواء قبل وبعد أداء نشاط بدني قوي أو أخذ عدة أنفاس من الهواء البارد.

اختبار الحساسية

يمكن إجراء اختبار الحساسية عن طريق اختبار الجلد أو فحص الدم. يمكن أن تحدد اختبارات الحساسية مجموعة واسعة من مسببات الحساسية. إذا تم تحديد مسببات الحساسية المهمة ، فقد يؤدي ذلك إلى التوصية بالعلاج المناعي للحساسية.

Asthma Diagnosis

Diagnosis

There is no single test for asthma. Your doctor will:

  • ask about the symptoms
  • ask about general health, including whether you (or other family members) have allergies like eczema or hay fever etc.
  • do a physical examination (e.g. listen to the chest)
  • consider other possible causes of the symptoms
  • arrange a spirometry test (for adults and children aged 6 years and over).

How well the lungs work (lung function) is tested using a spirometer. You blow into a tube as forcefully and as long as you can. The spirometer measures the amount of air pushed through the tube, as well as lung capacity and other parameters.

Airflow can vary in healthy people too (e.g. when someone has a cold their lungs may not work as well as usual). But people with asthma have a much bigger difference than healthy people between how their lungs work at their best and at their worst.

Most children over 6 years old can do this asthma test. If you or your child has a cold or flu, spirometry should be repeated later when you are well.

The doctor will be looking for signs of conditions that often go along with asthma such as rhinitis (inflammation of the nose), sinusitis (inflammation of the sinuses), nasal polyps (mucus-filled sacks in the nose), eczema or dermatitis (skin irritation).

Sometimes the doctor needs to do other tests:

  • Allergy tests, either skin or blood
  • A test to see how your airways react to exercise
  • Tests for other conditions, such as gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) or obstructive sleep apnea
  • A test for sinus disease
  • A chest x-ray or electrocardiogram to check for signs of separate lung or heart disease
  • Exhaled nitric oxide (FeNO) test to measure lung inflammation

What does it mean?

Physical exam

The doctor will look at your ears, eyes, nose, throat, skin, chest and lungs. To rule out other possible conditions — such as a respiratory infection or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) — your doctor will ask you questions about your signs and symptoms and about any other health problems. This exam may include a lung function test to detect how well you exhale air from your lungs. You may also need an X-ray of your lungs or sinuses.

Lung Function Test

To see how well your lungs are working, how much air moves in and out as you breathe.

Spirometry

This is a test to confirm asthma. You will take a deep breath and then exhale forcefully into a mouthpiece that’s connected to a device, called spirometer. This test estimates the narrowing of your bronchial tubes by checking how much air you can exhale after a deep breath and how fast you can breathe out.

Peak flow

A peak flow meter is a simple a small, handheld device that measures how hard you can breathe out. During the test you breathe in as deeply as you can and then blow into the device as hard and fast as possible. Lower than usual peak flow readings are a sign your lungs may not be working as well and that your asthma may be getting worse. If you’re diagnosed with asthma, you can use a peak flow meter at home to help track your condition.

Lung function tests often are done before and after taking a medication called a bronchodilator, such as salbutamol/albuterol, to open your airways (reversibility test). If your lung function improves after inhaling a bronchodilator, it’s likely you have asthma.

X-Ray

A chest X-ray or a CT scan of your lungs can identify abnormalities or diseases that can cause or aggravate breathing problems (e.g. infection).

Exhaled Nitric Oxide Testing – FeNO

We all exhale a little nitric oxide (NO). But too much nitric oxide is an indicator of lung inflammation, the underlying condition of asthma. Measuring nitric oxide levels in your breath (FeNO, or fractional exhaled nitric oxide) can be useful in testing for and monitoring asthma. The noninvasive test involves breathing into a machine that detects FeNO levels; it can easily be performed by patients of all ages.

Methacholine Test

Methacholine, when inhaled, will cause mild constriction of your airways. If you react to the methacholine, you likely have asthma. This test may be used even if your initial lung function test is normal.

Provocation Test

Is a provocative test for exercise and cold-induced asthma. In these tests, your airway obstruction before and after you perform vigorous physical activity or take several breaths of cold air is measured.

Allergy Test

Allergy testing can be performed by a skin test or blood test. Allergy tests can identify a wide range of allergens. If important allergy triggers are identified, this can lead to a recommendation for allergen immunotherapy.